RUSA Financial Literacy Interest Group

Many libraries are looking to offer financial literacy programming, financial reference assistance, personal finance collections, and other library services and resources that support their users’ financial education and information needs for financial decision-making. The RUSA Financial Literacy Interest Group provides an opportunity for those interested in financial literacy in libraries to learn and share ideas, and build up their knowledge of available resources. The group meets online every other month for discussions, covering topics such as finding and partnering with financial experts in your local community, financial literacy programs for entrepreneurs, parents, and other populations, and the RUSA Financial Literacy Education in Libraries: Guidelines and Best Practices.

In 2019, the RUSA Financial Literacy Interest Group will have the opportunity to expand offerings with a discussion session at ALA Midwinter on financial literacy resources and collection development and a program at ALA Annual entitled “A Natural Disaster Shouldn’t Become a Personal Finance Disaster: Addressing Money Management and Fraud Awareness in Your Library’s Disaster Recovery Programs.” Both sessions will be sponsored by FINRA Investor Education Foundation, thanks to a generous grant received by ALA from the organization. FINRA will also sponsor a RUSA Financial Literacy Interest Group webinar in 2019. Please stay tuned for further details.

To wrap up 2018, the RUSA Financial Literacy Interest Group is hosting an online discussion to talk about the financial literacy programs that get us and our patrons through to the end of the year and ready to start a new one. Join the conversation to hear about and share your ideas for library programs on saving money for the holidays, homemade gifts on a budget, de-stressing in the face of financial distress, preparing finances for the new year, philanthropy, and more.

Date: Monday, December 10

Time: 3-4 PM Eastern/2-3 PM Central/1-2 PM Mountain/12-1 PM Pacific.

Join Zoom Meeting: https://ala-events.zoom.us/j/795101751

One tap mobile +19294362866,,795101751# US +16699006833,,795101751# US (San Jose)

Dial by your location +1 929 436 2866 US +1 669 900 6833 US (San Jose)

Meeting ID: 795 101 751

If you are interested in joining the RUSA Financial Literacy Interest Group, please contact Lauren Reiter (lmr29@psu.edu), chair, or find the group on ALA Connect.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Font Resize
Contrast