ETS e-Forum: Implementing, Maintaining and Evaluating Virtual Reference Services

Please join us for an e-forum discussion via the ETS-L listserv!

Topic
Join us for an engaging and informative discussion on the implementation, maintenance, and evaluation of virtual reference.  Discussion will include:

  • How users rate satisfaction
  • How to determine success
  • Management of the service
  • Patron Privacy
  • Planning the implementation of virtual reference
  • Technologies
  • Training

When
Thursday January 18th and Friday January 19th

  • Pacific: 9 a.m. – 3 p.m.
  • Mountain: 10 a.m. – 4 p.m.
  • Central: 11 a.m. – 5 p.m.
  • Eastern: 12 p.m. – 6 p.m.

Moderators
Paul Chasen is the Statewide Coordinator of Maryland AskUsNow!, http://www.askusnow.info, Maryland libraries’ free, statewide, 24/7, virtual reference service available to Maryland residents, students in Maryland schools and institutions, and customers in other locations who find the service.  Maryland AskUsNow! is 100% funded by an IMLS, LSTA Grant, administered at the Maryland State Library, and headquartered at the Enoch Pratt Free Library/Maryland State Library Resource Center.

Rebecca Fordon is the Faculty Services Librarian at UCLA’s Law Library in Los Angeles, CA.  She assists students and faculty with legal research and oversees the adoption and implementation of emerging technologies in the reference group.

Sue McFadden is the Emerging Technology Librarian at Indiana University East, Richmond, IN.  She works with scholarly communication and instruction at the Campus Library.

Jennifer Young is the Resource Sharing & Acquisitions Librarian at East Tennessee State University, Johnson City, TN.  She manages interlibrary loan, acquisitions, and collection development for Sherrod Library.

We look forwarding to hearing your thoughts on and experiences with virtual reference!

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Font Resize
Contrast