BRASS Public Librarian Support Award sponsored by Morningstar

Morningstar Logo
This annual award sponsored by Morningstar, offers a cash award of $1,250* in travel funds for a public librarian, who has performed outstanding business reference service, and who requires financial assistance, to attend the ALA Annual Conference.
*Monetary award amounts are subject to change without notice and are contingent upon donor funding supplied at the time the award is presented.


  • The candidate must be a member of ALA. If not a RUSA/BRASS member, the recipient must join RUSA/BRASS upon being selected to receive the award.
  • The recipient shall have a demonstrated interest in providing business reference services. This may be demonstrated by involvement in special projects, creation of a business website, business-related programming, publications, and related activities.
  • The award will be given to a recipient whose conference attendance is not fully funded by their institution.
  • Recipient must be willing to participate in BRASS activities at the ALA Conference for which the award has been made and to write a short statement regarding his or her experience at the conference for publication (e.g. RUSA Update) following the event.


To nominate a librarian, download and complete a nomination form, following the submission instructions therein. The nomination form can be found on the RUSA Update Resources page.

Questions should be directed to the committee chair, Edmund A. Rossman,

Submission Guidelines

To nominate a librarian, please submit the nomination form along with a letter of nomination to the committee chair,  Edmund A. Rossman,, outlining the nominee’s accomplishments in public librarianship and business reference, including but not limited to involvement in special projects; creation of a business web site; outstanding service to the community; and publications.
1) Nominee does not receive funds from his/her library to attend ALA conferences.
2) Nominee receives partial funding from his/her library to attend ALA conferences. (Please elaborate in letter of nomination.)


Award Recipients

2017: Erin Cavell, Small Business Librarian at Minneapolis Central Library (M.N.)

2016: Susan Wolf Neilson, librarian, Wake County Public Libraries (N.C.)

2015: Barbara Alvarez, Barrington Area Library (Illinois)


2013: Salvatore DiVincenzo, Middle Country Public Library (N.Y.)

2012: Anne MacDonald

2011: Suzanne J. Kaller

2010: Ed Rossman, Adult Services Librarian, Shaker Heights (Ohio) Public Library

2009: Not presented

2008: Elizabeth Malafi

2007: Rachelle Miller

2006: Not presented

2005: Terry Zarsky

2004: Kay Cormier

2003: Bryce Thornton

2002: Sandra G. Rizzo

2001: Lisa Holbrook

2000: Karen Van Drie

Font Resize
Join us in New Orleans for a lively conversation with Librarian of Congress Dr. Hayden and former ALA President Courtney Young about forging roles for library services in meeting the needs of today.   Add it to your schedule!