NoveList’s Margaret E. Monroe Library Adult Services Award

Established in 1985, NoveList’s Margaret E. Monroe Award is $1,250* and a citation presented to a librarian who has made significant contributions to library adult services. The individual may be practicing librarian, a library and information science researcher or educator, or a retired librarian who has brought distinction to the profession’s understanding and practice or services for adults. Sponsored by NoveList

The criteria for “significant contributions” will be judged by such factors as publications, leadership, measurable effectiveness of programs, influence on others, and creative and innovative concepts.

*Monetary award amounts are subject to change without notice and are contingent upon donor funding supplied at the time the award is presented. Questions about these awards should be directed to the committee chairperson or to Leighann Wood, at [email protected].


To nominate a librarian, download and complete the nomination form (PDF format), and follow the submission instructions therein. Questions should be directed to the committee chair, Larayne J. Dallas, [email protected].

Submission Guidelines

Submit the following materials with the nomination form:
1) Nomination letter, describing the ways in which the nominee has made a significant contribution to library adult
services. Letter should address some or all of the following: publications, leadership, measurable effectiveness of
programs, influence on others, and creative and innovative concepts.
2) Resume of the nominee and/or summary of the nominee’s activities and contributions.
3)  A minimum of two letters of endorsement containing specific reasons for supporting the nomination.
4)  Any other supporting materials that illustrate the nominee’s significant contribution.

The deadline for submissions is December 8, 2017.

Award Recipients

2017: David Wright, Readers’ Services Librarian, Seattle Public Library

2016: Dr. Mary K. Chelton, retired professor, Graduate School of Library and Information Studies, Queen’s College, CUNY

2015: Neil Hollands, adult services librarian, Williamsburg Regional Library

2014: Diana Tixier Herald, Delta County Libraries (Colo.)

2013: Dr. Catherine Sheldrick Ross, University of Western Ontario

2012: Neal Wyatt

2011: Joyce Saricks, Dominican University

2010: Nancy Pearl

2009: No award given


2007: Barry Trott

2006: Allan Kleiman

2005: Gary Warren Niebuhr

2004: Cynthia Orr

2003: Miriam Pollack

2002: Marsha Spyros

2001: No award given

2000: Lizbeth A. Wilson

1999: Ann Bradshaw

1998: Jane P. Kleiner

1997: Duncan Smith

1996: Connie VanFleet

1995: Valerie J. Wilford

1994: Elizabeth Ann Funk

1993: Kathleen Weibel

1992: Rhea Joyce Rubin

1991: Kathleen M. McCook (Heim)

1990: Martin J. Gomez

1989: Bernice Mac Donald

1988: Jane K. Hirsch

1987: Lora Landers

1986: Helen Huguenor Lyman

Font Resize