Virginia Boucher-OCLC Distinguished ILL Librarian Award

OCLC logo

The Virginia Boucher-OCLC Distinguished ILL (Interlibrary Loan) Librarian Award is an annual award consisting of $2,000, sponsored by OCLC, and a citation. It recognizes a degreed librarian for outstanding professional achievement, leadership, and contributions to interlibrary loan and document delivery through recent publication of significant professional literature, participation in professional associations, and/or innovative approaches to practice in individual libraries.

The candidate must have been employed in a library and held some responsibility for his or her institution’s ILL, document delivery, or resource sharing services at the time the contributions be honored was made. Contributions supporting a nomination must have occurred during the last two years prior to the nomination deadline. The candidate’s achievement must be demonstrated in at least one of the following areas:

  1. Planning and implementing an innovative or pioneering approach to ILL/document delivery service that is recognized as a model on a regional or national level.
  2. Notable publication, such as an article, book, or conference paper, which is deemed significant in the literature of the field, and was published in the two years prior to the candidate’s nomination.
  3. A record of sustained, recognized, and exceptional participation in regional, national, or international associations devoted to the promotion of ILL/document delivery in a library environment.

*Monetary award amounts are subject to change without notice and are contingent upon donor funding supplied at the time the award is presented.


To nominate a librarian, download and complete the nomination form, and send to the committee chair, Collette G. Mak, [email protected].. Self-nominations are permitted. Previous nominees who were not selected in previous years are welcome to reapply. The nomination form can be found on the RUSA Update Resources page.

Submission Guidelines

Submit the following materials with the nomination form to the committee chair, Collette G. Mak, [email protected].:
1) Nomination letter, describing the ways in which the nominee has made a significant contribution to ILL. Letter should address some or all of the following: publications, leadership, measurable effectiveness of programs, influence on others, and creative and innovative concepts.
2) Resume detailing the candidate’s career, achievements and contribution to the field.

Questions should be directed to the committee chair, Collette G. Mak, [email protected].

Recent Recipients

2016 Tina Baich, Indiana University–Purdue University Indianapolis
2015 Lars Leon, University of Kansas
2014 David Larsen, University of Chicago
2013 Collette G. Mak, University of Notre Dame
2012 Cyril Oberlander

Font Resize