News By Tag

Posts Currently viewing the tag: "fiction"
Jennifer Egan author of Manhattan Beach

Summer reading is around the corner and we’ve got your next pick for book club: Manhattan Beach by Jennifer Egan (Scribner), which won the 2018 Andrew Carnegie Medal for Excellence in Fiction. From New York mobsters to the first woman diver at the Brooklyn Naval Station during WWII to the archetypally motley crew of…(Read More)

Sara Paretsky

Acclaimed author Sara Paretsky was the featured speaker at the reception honoring the winners of the 2017 Andrew Carnegie Medals for Excellence in Fiction and Nonfiction in Chicago last June. Her speech, reprinted in Booklist’s May issue, includes a few factual updates but appears largely as delivered, fiercely and powerfully. Paretsky received a standing…(Read More)

Matthew Desmond and Colson Whitehead with medals

We’re gearing up for this year’s celebration of the Andrew Carnegie Medals for Excellence in Fiction and Nonfiction and looking back to last year’s winners: Evicted: Poverty and Profit in the American City (Crown, Penguin Random House) by Matthew Desmond and The Underground Railroad (Doubleday, Penguin Random House) by Colson Whitehead. Our…(Read More)

If you liked Manhattan Beach, you'll also like...

If you loved Jennifer Egan’s award-winning novel Manhattan Beach Andrew Carnegie Medals for Excellence as much as we did, we know you’ll like these other fantastic reads hand-picked by the selection committee members and reviewed by our partner, Booklist.   Manhattan Beach by Jennifer Egan (Scribner). Winner, 2018 Andrew Carnegie Medal…(Read More)

March is Women’s History Month and it’s the perfect time to get inspired by some of literature’s greatest contributors. Here are 18 outstanding, masterful titles that have landed on the American Library Association’s Andrew Carnegie Medals for Excellence in Fiction and Nonfiction shortlist or took home the gold medal.   &nbsp…(Read More)

Manhattan Beach by Jennifer Egan

UPDATE: No medal for nonfiction was awarded in 2018. _______________________________________ The American Library Association (ALA) announced “Manhattan Beach,” by Jennifer Egan, published by Scribner, as the winner of the 2018 Andrew Carnegie Medal for Excellence in Fiction. The selection was announced RUSA’s Book and Media Awards Ceremony sponsored by NoveList, during the ALA Midwinter…(Read More)

Reading List

The Reading List Council has announced the 2018 selections of the Reading List, an annual best-of list comprising eight different fiction genres for adult readers. A shortlist of honor titles was also announced. The list was announced today during the American Library Association’s Midwinter Meeting held in Denver. The 2018 selections are: Adrenaline…(Read More)

Font Resize
Join us in New Orleans for a lively conversation with Librarian of Congress Dr. Hayden and former ALA President Courtney Young about forging roles for library services in meeting the needs of today.   Add it to your schedule!